Boundaries of the Birthday Suit

Photo by Sebastiaan Stam on Pexels.com

I’m comfortable in my birthday suit, even around my family. Yes. I’m naked in my house – I even drafted this article clothes-free! I suppose you expected that because I am a nudist.

So, I’m a nudist and my wife is comfortable with nudity. We don’t have any kids yet, but you may be wondering if that would complicate our clothes-free lifestyle. The truth is kids complicate everything and our culture’s distorted view of the human body only makes it harder.

It’s important to set boundaries and rules when practicing nudity in your family. We are clean and hygienic when spending time in the nude. Remember to wipe your bums extra clean!

Let each family member decide what feels comfortable to them. I, for example, do not feel comfortable having conversations or company when I’m on the toilet! I value my privacy in the bathroom and respect others’ need for privacy as well.

Some fathers worry about bathing with their daughters, but you can use bath time to teach and bond with your kid. Photo by Jen Theodore on Unsplash

I think it’s okay to take baths and showers with your kids. It’s also okay not to. Children tend to develop a sense of modesty and desire for privacy around five years old. By then it’s okay to leave them alone in the tub and respect their wishes for privacy. This also gives them an opportunity to do something on their own and learn some independence. As they get older it’s still okay to take showers together (as is commonplace in locker rooms and nudist camps) so long as extra boundaries are put in place. Always ask for consent and respect their autonomy.

Set rules for when being naked is okay and appropriate. While it may be okay to be nude at home, clothing should be worn around guests. Sometimes it’s okay for young children to be nude outside the home (such as friends’ houses, campgrounds, and beaches) but clothing must be worn in school and all other public spaces.

Nudist families, like any other family, establish boundaries to create a healthy and respectful environment. We just like to be naked and incorporate nudity into our everyday lives. If we want to raise the next generation to have a healthy view of the human body and make safe choices, it’s important we practice family nudity and practice it well.

1 comment

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started